Upcoming Events

Tuesday, January 30, 2018 -
6:30pm to 7:30pm

Saturday, February 3, 2018 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

Tuesday, February 6, 2018 -
6:30pm to 7:30pm

Saturday, February 10, 2018 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Monday, February 12, 2018 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm

  • 01:00 PM to 03:00 PM
    Contact: The Help Desk at 986-1047, ext. 3

    (2006)  Starring Angela Bassett, Keke Palmer and Laurence Fishburne.  This is the inspirational story of Akeelah Anderson, an eleven-year-old girl from south Los Angeles with a gift for words. Despite the objections of her mother, Akeelah enters various spelling contests, for which she is tutored by the forthright Dr. Larabee, her principal Mr. Welch and the proud residents of her neighborhood. Akeelah's aptitude earns her an opportunity to compete for a spot in the Scripps National Spelling Bee and, in turn, unites her neighborhood who witness the courage and inspiration of one amazing little girl. Rated PG; 112 min.

     

    Location:
    AWPL Community Room
    Age Group:
    Adult, Teen, Tween, Children
    Printer Friendly Program Details

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 -
6:00pm to 7:00pm

Monday, February 19, 2018 -
9:00am to 8:00pm

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 -
6:30pm to 7:30pm

Friday, March 2, 2018 -
9:00am to 12:00pm

Saturday, March 3, 2018 -
2:00pm to 4:00pm

Pages