ALBERT WISNER PUBLIC LIBRARY Board of Trustees Annual Re-Organization Meeting July 23, 2024 at 6:30 PM

Minutes

PRESENT: Board Members: Mark Damia, Regina Wittosch, Nora Aman-Gurvich, Colleen Larsen, Barbara Johansen, and Mary Berrigan

- **Director**: Lisa Laico
- Rec. Secretary: Siobhan O'Riordan
- Absent: Wayne Rossi
- I. Meeting called to order by Mark Damia at 6:35 pm
- II. Pledge of Allegiance
- III. Public Comment: None
- IV. Election of Officers for FY 2024/2025:
 - A) President (also ex-officio on AWPL Foundation Board) Mark Damia
 - B) Vice President Nora Aman-Gurvich
 - C) Financial Officer Regina Wittosch
 - D) Secretary Colleen Larsen

Mark Damia made a motion to keep all Board members in their current positions; Nora Aman-Gurvich seconded the motion. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

V. Committee Assignments

The Board chose to remain in their Standing Committee assignments. Mark Damia is an ex-officio member of all committees. Lisa Laico sits on all Board committees as Library Director.

- A) Buildings and Grounds: Chair-Regina, Barbara Johansen and Mary Berrigan
- B) **Financial**: Chair-Regina Wittosch, Nora Aman-Gurvich
- C) Personnel: Chair-Colleen Larsen, Mary Berrigan
- D) **Community Relations**: Chair-Nora Aman-Gurvich, Barbara Johansen

VI. Appointments:

Regina Wittosch made a motion to approve the following appointments; Colleen Larsen seconded the motion:

- A) To appoint Ben Gailey, J&G Law, LLP, as Attorney of Record
- B) To appoint Nugent and Haeussler as Independent Auditor
- C) To appoint Joy Palazzola as Treasurer and Bookkeeper
- D) To appoint BPS Financial Services as Employee Benefits Firm
- E) To appoint Siobhan O'Riordan as Recording Secretary

The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

VII. Establish Monthly Meeting Dates and Times:

Motion to establish the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm as date/time of the regularly-

scheduled monthly Board meeting:

Regina Wittosch made a motion to approve the 4th Tuesday of each month at 7pm as the regularly-scheduled monthly Board meeting; Barbara Johansen seconded the motion. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

VIII. Library Board By-Laws:

Library By-Laws were reviewed.

IX. Library Boards Annual Affirmation and Disclosure Statements

Board members were given Affirmation and Disclosure Statements which they have completed and signed. The Statements will be kept on file in the Library office.

X. New Business:

A. Motion to approve Investment Policy:

Barbara Johansen made a motion to approve the Investment Policy; Colleen Larsen seconded the motion. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

The Board reviewed the Investment Policy and did not make any changes.

Regina Wittosch made a motion to approve the Library's Investment Policy; Nora Aman-Gurvich seconded the motion. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

B. Motion to approve Resolution to override 2% tax cap for FY 2024/2025 Budget:

Whereas, the adoption of the FY 2025/2026 budget for Albert Wisner Public Library may require a tax levy increase that exceeds the tax cap imposed by state law as outlined in General Municipal Law Section 3-c adopted in 2011; and

Whereas, General Municipal Law Section 3-c expressly permits the Library Board to override the tax levy limit by a resolution approved by a vote of sixty percent of qualified Board members; now therefore be it

Resolved, that the Board of Trustees of Albert Wisner Public Library voted and approved to exceed the tax levy limit for FY 2025-2026 by at least the sixty percent of the Board of Trustees required by state law on July 23, 2024.

Nora Aman-Gurvich made a motion to approve a Resolution to override the 2% tax cap; Barbara Johansen seconded the motion. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes

XI. Dates & Times for next meeting:

- A. Regular Meeting of the Board Tuesday, July 23, 2024 at the Library immediately following annual Reorganization Meeting.
- B. Regular Meeting of the Board Tuesday, August 27, 2024 at 7pm at the Library.

XII. Adjournment:

<u>A motion to adjourn the Annual Reorganization Board Meeting</u> at 6:50 pm was made by Regina Wittosch; the motion was seconded by Colleen Larsen. The Board voted as follows: Mark Damia – Yes; Nora Aman-Gurvich – Yes; Regina Wittosch – Yes; Colleen Larsen – Yes; Mary Berrigan – Yes; Barbara Johansen – Yes.

Motions:

- 1. To maintain all Board Members in their current positions.
- 2. To appoint the following:

Ben Gailey of J&G Law, LLP as Attorney of Record
Nugent and Haeussler as Independent Auditor
Joy Palazzola as Treasurer and Bookkeeper
BPS Financial Services as Employee Benefits Firm
Siobhan O'Riordan as Recording Secretary

- 3. To approve the Library's Investment Policy
- 4. To approve a Resolution to override the 2% tax cap for FY 2025/2026
- 5. To adjourn the Reorganization Meeting at 6:50pm

Recorded by Siobhan O'Riordan on July 23, 2024 and submitted by Siobhan O'Riordan on July 24, 2024.